Review: IMMORTAL: Love Stories with Bite (Anthologies)

Immortal_FrontCoverTitle: Immortal: Love Stories with Bite (Anthologies)
Author: P.C. Cast (Editor), Cynthia Leitich Smith, Kristin Cast, Rachel Caine, Tanith Lee, Richelle Mead, Nancy Holder, Claudia Gray
Release date: October 6th 2009
Publisher: BenBella Books
Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal/Romance
Source: Bought
Format: Paperback
Pages: 185
Rating: 5 stars

Seven of today’s most popular YA vampire and contemporary fantasy authors offer new short stories that prove that when you’re immortal, true love really is forever.

The reason for giving this book 5 stars is actually very simple: A-M-A-Z-I-N-G
Yes, this book of short stories is one of the best book ever. It is filled with characters that will have you swooning and cheering for them!

I actually bought this book on impulse, basically because I was attracted to the cover. So yes, it has been quite some time, at least a good 4-5 years since I bought and read this book. Know this: I didn’t know any of the authors when I started reading this book.

Okay, so out of the seven stories, my favourite story would BLUE MOON by Richelle Mead. I have read her Vampire Academy series after this book and it is quite different from her world of the Moroi and Dhampir.  It was quite a fresh read, having a female vampire as the protagonist. The story between the female vampire and a male human was so intriguing and mesmerising, that I do wish she would have written more short stories or possibly continuing this story, especially since I find this story of hers very interesting!

This book also introduces me to the Morganville vampires by Rachel Caine. A short story, DEAD MAN STALKING, written by Caine and I got to know possibly one of the cutest couple ever, Michael and Eve! I must admit, from what Caine wrote in this short story, I am tempted to read the Morganville vampires series!

Claudia Gray’s FREE was something rather different than most vampire series, rather, most YA books. The story does not focus too much on love but on a woman who craves freedom and being brave enough to take on the challenges thrown to her. It is worth the time to read!

Rachel Vincent’s BINGE shows just how dangerous a muse can be to a musician. Literally. This brings out a question that got me thinking, can a musician love his muse without mistaking “love” as how inspired he can be from his muse? It’s just a question that popped into my head when I was reading this story.

Nancy Holder’s CHANGED got me excited and a little confused. This story was set in the world where humans would betrayed each other for their own safety. Even if that seems like the most inhumane thing to do. Though I have a few questions. Does Sean really hate the gut out of Jilly? Or like Eli said, he actually harbours some other feelings? Eli and Sean are in a relationship so well, my brain is confused. Despite the confusion, it is still amazing!

Tanith Lee’s TABLE MANNERS was quite a joy to read! It is quite entertaining to see a bright young woman with a confused vampire. Vampires are always portrayed to be cool and composed. So, imagine my surprise at this book! Quite a refreshing read!

Cynthia Leitich Smith’s HAUNTED LOVE was quite the plot twist! Quite different from most books I have ever read. A vampire, a ghost, a human and NONE of them are what they appeared to be. I must say, I got quite a shock, a wonderful shock!

Kristin Cast’s AMBER SMOKE was quite amazing, I must say! It’s also my favourite story! I have been a fan of her House of Night series and this short story introduces us to a new kind of vampire, who have the power to alter space and times to save the girl he’s meant to love. This story is one of my favourite!

Well, it’s not that I am singing praises to this particular book of short stories, but it is truly and indeed AMAZING!

Trust me, I have read other books containing short stories and it was so, well, uninteresting and boring. However for IMMORTALS, once you read it, you will be HOOKED onto the book!

Highly recommended for fans of the featured authors and anyone who wants to have a great and light read!

Leave a Reply

