Review: A Temptation of Angels by Michelle Zink

atoaTitle: A Temptation of Angels
Author:  Michelle Zink
Release date: March 20th 2012
Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Historical Fiction
Source: Bought
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 435
Rating: 3 stars

Even angels make mistakes in this page-turning epic romance. When her parents are murdered before her eyes, sixteen-year-old Helen Cartwright finds herself launched into an underground London where a mysterious organization called the Dictata controls the balance of good and evil. Helen learns that she is one of three remaining angelic descendants charged with protecting the world’s past, present, and future. Unbeknownst to her, she has been trained her whole life to accept this responsibility. Now, as she finds herself torn between the angelic brothers protecting her and the devastatingly handsome childhood friend who wants to destroy her, she must prepare to be brave, to be hunted, and above all to be strong, because temptation will be hard to resist, even for an angel.

Michelle Zink masterfully weaves historical fantasy with paranormal romance to create a gripping tale of love and betrayal.

I have a love-hate relationship with this book.

Yes, love and hate. Let me start off by saying that I am a sucker for beautiful covers and at first glance, the synopsis of this book captured my attention when I saw it on Goodreads the year before (2013), followed by the cover. Thus began my search for it, and I bought the book. A Temptation of Angels was basically seducing me to buy it.

So, I did…which is why I find myself feeling very conflicted when I read it.

Helen Cartright, the girl who lost her parents and her home over one night and she wants to find out the truth of her parents death. Her knights in shining armour comes in the form of two brothers, Darius and Griffin, protecting her.

Okay, so most YA books have a love triangle in their storylines, involving a female protagonist torn between her two protectors, especially so if her two protectors are brothers. What I love about this book is the way the author chose to portray Helen’s love interests.

Michelle Zink didn’t do that, which is why I love this book. It does not contain the usual YA love triangle between brothers and the protagonist. However, what she does next is why I feel the other way for this book.

From the summary, “Now, as she finds herself torn between the angelic brothers protecting her and the devastatingly handsome childhood friend who wants to destroy her.”

That just destroyed my thought of having a YA book with no love triangles but well, it is still relatively fine. Love triangles do spice up the book, which I would rather have it over a boring book. However, I would think that it is relatively impossible for someone to continue having any sort of love towards the person who wants to destroy her. Which in Helen’s case, she actually does.

Granted that the person is her childhood friend, but would someone actually be able to have any sort of positive feelings to the person who harbours ill-will? Also, the name ‘Raum’ for the childhood friend is a little too…weird for me.

That, and the way Helen behaves is what was bothering me.

Helen just lost her parents and basically anything she ever had came crashing down and she got over it much too quickly. I passed that of as perhaps its because she could not grieve properly, with everything happening to her.

This book was set in the Victorian era and I love the way Helen alters her clothes even though it maybe frowned upon by others at that time. Then again, she is one of the three remaining angelic descendants charged with protecting the world’s past, present, and future. So that, made her awesome enough to alter her clothes for convenience purpose.

Despite the “hate” relationship I have with some of the content of this book, I would hope that there would be a sequel to it. Sadly, it is a stand-alone. I would have read the sequel if the author actually do write one.

I would recommend this book to readers who would want a light read as it is relatively well-paced and not too heavy on content.

Leave a Reply

