Review: Catch Me When I Fall by Vicki Leigh

Catch me when I fallTitle: Catch Me When I Fall (Dreamcatcher #1)
Author: Vicki Leigh
Release date: October 23rd 2014
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Paranormal Romance
Source: Netgalley
Format: eARC
Pages:  205
Rating: 5 stars

*Thank you to Curiosity Quills Press for providing me with an eARC via Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.

Recruited at his death to be a Protector of the Night, seventeen-year-old Daniel Graham has spent two-hundred years fighting Nightmares and guarding humans from the clawed, red-eyed creatures that feed off people’s fears. Each night, he risks his eternal life, having given up his chance at an afterlife when he chose to become a Protector. That doesn’t stop a burnt-out Daniel from risking daring maneuvers during each battle. He’s become one of the best, but he wants nothing more than to stop.

Then he’s given an assignment to watch over sixteen-year-old Kayla Bartlett, a clinically depressed patient in a psychiatric ward. Nightmares love a human with a tortured past. Yet, when they take a deep interest in her, appearing in unprecedented numbers, the job becomes more dangerous than any Daniel’s ever experienced. He fights ruthlessly to keep the Nightmares from overwhelming his team and Kayla. Soon, Daniel finds himself watching over Kayla during the day, drawn to why she’s different, and what it is about her that attracts the Nightmares. And him.

A vicious attack on Kayla forces Daniel to break the first Law and reveal his identity. Driven by his growing feelings for her, he whisks her away to Rome where others like him can keep her safe. Under their roof, the Protectors discover what Kayla is and why someone who can manipulate Nightmares has her in his sights. But before they can make a move, the Protectors are betrayed and Kayla is kidnapped. Daniel will stop at nothing to save her. Even if it means giving up his immortality.

This has got to be the most fascinating and stunning read of the year!

Vicki Leigh’s writing is so amazingly detailed and the story she wrote, the life she infuse into her characters is simply just too incredible for words! It is hard for me to imagine that Catch Me When I Fall is her debut novel!

Ever since I saw Miss Leigh on twitter, I have been eagerly, waiting with utmost impatience, for her debut novel. I was intrigued by the book mainly because it would be told from a male’s point of view, and also, the four words ‘Protector of the Night’

Truth be told, most YA novels are told from a badass heroine’s view and since I have read so many of the books with the same genre, I thought Daniel Graham, the protagonist, would just have the same badass and impulsive personality in a male form. Oh boy, was I wrong!

Since his death 200 years ago, Daniel Graham, a Protector of the Night, spends his time fighting Nightmares and guarding humans from the Nightmares, clawed, red-eyed creatures that feed off people’s fears. To become a Protector, also known as a Dreamcatcher, one must have died while trying to protect another. In short, giving up your life to save another.

I love the whole Protector-of-the-Night business. First of all, one can evaporate to anywhere they want just by thinking about it! How cool is that! Secondly, they can go invisible and corporeal whenever they want! The only downside would be, when a Protector dies, he or she would just be floating around in a black void. There is no heaven for them to ascend to. Still, it would be cool to be a Catcher!

The Catchers/Protectors have a home in Rome where they rest and from the book, the place they live in is a beautiful and magnificent castle of some sort. Thanks to the amazing writing by Vicki Leigh, it is so easy to imagine the place where they live and train!

Back to Daniel, he is going to be my book boyfriend. (That means no touchy-touchy ladies! He’s mine!) He is a badass, without the attitude. I have absolutely no idea what kind of words would best describe him, but simply put, he can be a badass male without having to be a jerk.
.
No wait, I found the words. BADASS GENTLEMAN!

He can’t stay away from Kayla and his feelings, his affection for her…oh my god, its just too GREAT. THE FEELS ARE TOO MUCH FOR ME TO HANDLE!

Kayla Bartlett is one of the few female characters that I actually like in all the books of the YA genres that I have ever read. When I first read the blurb, I thought there are only two types of personality she could have – the badass but impulsive hardass ones, or, the soft, weak and vulnerable kind.

I was wrong. AGAIN.

Really, Miss Leigh does surprise me with every traits she infuse into her characters because Kayla is a combination of BOTH! I thought Kayla would be the latter seeing as how she was in a psychiatric ward, but I was pleasantly surprised when I read the book. Besides, how can one be physically weak when you have something that no one else have? (That’s a hint!)

Samantha, Seth and Tabbi. My other three most favourite characters in the book.

Samantha is an understudy and Daniel is her mentor. When I first started the book, I don’t particularly like Sam very much and especially so after I read what happens between Daniel and her. She was mean to Kayla and it got on my nerves. Though, in the end, she won my love for her because her actions was just a way of showing how much she cares about her mentor.

Seth is a Catcher and Daniel’s best friend, and the funniest person in the book! (That’s a cue for you guys to read and find out WHY!) Tabbi is a Dreamweaver, someone who weaves good dreams for their human charge while they sleeps, and the Catcher would kill the Nightmares, and the cutest, sweetest person ever!

I am going to stop now because I am literally bubbling with excitement inside and I don’t want to blurt out any spoilers! Look forward to the book readers, it is filled with so much life and emotions, and not to forget, PLOT TWISTS!

I can’t wait for the sequel! No wait, I NEED IT!

Highly recommended to readers who are fans of the Young Adult genre who are looking for a new, fascinating and refreshing read of the supernatural and fantasy world!

Leave a Reply

