Review: Reckless by Priscilla West

recklessTitle: Reckless (Reckless #1)
Author: Priscilla West
Release date: August 4th 2014
Publisher: Blackbird Publishing
Genre: New Adult/Contemporary Romance/Chick Lit
Source: Netgalley
Format: eARC
Pages:  249
Rating: 4 stars

*Thank you to Blackbird Publishing for providing me with an eARC via Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.

Everything about him warned me to stay away.

I’d seen bad boys before, but he had it all and more. The rippling muscles covered in tatts, the piercing eyes hiding dark secrets, the silky voice that could make a girl come with just a whisper . . .

He was exactly the type of guy that would get me in trouble, but when he jumped off the stage, inked skin glistening with sweat and breathed his seductive words into my ear, I couldn’t resist the temptation.

It was supposed to be the best one-night stand of my life, but fate didn’t let it play out that way. Things happened. I got upset. I got hasty. And worst of all, I got reckless.

After that disaster, I thought it was the last I’d see of him. But what I didn’t know was that I’d started something.

Something that could shatter the very thing I had worked so hard to protect.

I should have known back then that the most seductive things in life are also the most dangerous.

The book is quite paced quite well, and it was an amazing experience for me when I read it. The story started with Riley and her friend, Jen, going to a pub to unwind after a long week and just by luck, there was a band playing there. The fans of the band were described to be rabid dogs all trying to tear each other’s throats out just to get to the main singer!

I am not even kidding, really. I guess these fans are what most people would say ‘hardcore fans’. I have been to quite a few concerts and nope, I have yet to seen this cage-fight-brawling-animalistic fans who go crazy at the sight of the person they worshipped. By the way, it isn’t just the female fans who go crazy.

So, Riley, being the more impulsive and daring person she is, was about to leave the crazy crowd and find Jen when she lost sight of her friend. In the end, she decides to fight her way to the front because she couldn’t resist his voice, a male siren, any longer.

Yes, the singer singled her out and sparks starts sizzling and just when you think Reckless is going to be just your typical New Adult novel and shows both of them having sex, you are wrong!

Stud, aka the male siren, is the name Riley gives to him, pissed her off and she decides to pay him back by getting him all hot and bothered. Then, bam! She leaves him alone with ‘blue balls’. Oh hell, I couldn’t stop laughing at that! In other words, she gets him horny and everything but leaves him frustrated!

I love this woman!

Of course, the story does not end. In fact, it gets interesting.

Riley works as an accountant and her company was hired by a label company to keep track of the expenses of a band under their name, The Hitchcocks (HC). Turns out, the band was the very same one Riley saw in the pub! The delicious, swoon-worthy man whom she has given blue balls to, is Jax, the leader of HC.

Phew! Things gets hot from there and I swear, I actually heard sparks flying and sizzling! I love how Riley is trying to control herself in order to protect herself, but Jax wouldn’t take no for an answer. Riley is an amazing woman and honestly, I want to fly into the book and punch her ex in the f***ing face!

Of course, there’s Jax, who is afraid of Riley finding out about his identity, the one before he was Jax, the singer. I would really love to punch both Riley’s ex and the other person in Jax’s life.

That ending…I hope there is a book two because HELL, THAT ENDING WAS DAMN UNSATISFYING!

I NEED BOOK TWO PLEASE, MISS WEST, BOOK T-W-O.

Reckless is a light but at the same time, an emotional read, so I would recommend readers of the NA genre, ages 18 and up, who are looking for a hot-as-hell-and-intense-funny-infuriating banter and story between the protagonists, to read RECKLESS!

Here’s praying that there is a second instalment in the series! *fingers crossed*

 

Leave a Reply

