Review: Dead Girl Walking by Ruth Silver

dead girl walkingTitle: Dead Girl Walking (Royal Reaper #1)
Author: Ruth Silver
Release date: April 27th 2014
Publisher: Patchwork Press
Genre: Young Adult/ Fantasy/Romance
Source: Author
Format: eARC
Pages:  113
Rating: 3 stars

*Thank you to the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for a honest review.

Forget everything you know about grim reapers. Princess Ophelia Dacre sneaks out of the castle to visit her boyfriend in secret. A perfect night cut short when she’s brutally murdered. Ophelia is given the rare chance to become a grim reaper. She must become Leila Bele, cut ties with her old life, and follow the rules of the reapers. Her greatest adventure begins with death.

Royal grim reapers? Yes, that was what attracted me to this book in the first place! It’s not every day you get to read books that contains a grim reaper of the royal blood. Meet Princess Ophelia, or Leila, the royal reaper that will leave a very interesting feeling when you read the book.

This book was set in the historical era where Ophelia, just like any woman, wants to be with the one she loves instead of having to marry someone else against her own wishes. It is heart-wrenching to see her suffer at a young age.

I was somewhat disappointed with the first half of the book, mainly because the characters’ development and the style of writing. Honestly, I thought Ophelia would be like most of the YA heroines I have read about nowadays. Badass, impulsive, you get the picture.

She turned out to the complete opposite and somewhat resemble a spoilt princess. Though, I guess she acted this way since she is brought up as a Royal. She strike me as the type of girl who refuse to acknowledge the truth and tries to change it. Initially, and I won’t deny it, I just think of her as a spoilt child.

However, as I get to the middle, my views changed gradually. I understand why she behaves this way, even though in some parts, I still think she shouldn’t have done that. No one can truly understand how Leila feels, besides her grim reaper friends. She died when she was feeling happiness and everything was taken from her too soon.

I like the chemistry between the grim reapers. They all have something in common and they may be the only people who can understand each other.

I understand that Leila is the protagonist of the story but still, I wish the other characters were more developed. Besides Wynter, I felt as if the other characters were done injustice. Violetta, Jasper and Emblyn had so much potential. I’m hoping that there would be a sequel so the Leila’s adventures can continue, and the other characters would have more development!

Recommended for readers who are looking for a light read!

Leave a Reply

