Review: Legacy Code by Autumn Kalquist

legacy code1Title: Legacy Code (Legacy Code #1)
Author: Autumn Kalquist
Release date: April 16th 2014
Publisher: Diapason Publishing
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction/Fantasy
Source: Author
Format: eBook
Pages: 336
Rating: 4½ stars

*Thank you to the author for providing me with a copy in exchange for a honest review.

Space is a brutal home.

Three hundred years ago, the Earth died, and the last humans fled. Beaten. Broken in more ways than one. Their descendants carry the Legacy Code—mangled genes that force them to abort half their unborn children.

When Era and Dritan Corinth get placements on the safest ship in the fleet and win a chance to have a child, they feel lucky. Until the day Era’s supposed to find out if her baby has the Defect, and the ship suffers a hull breach.

An investigation uncovers new threats. Dangerous secrets. Lies. Treason.

Era begins to question everything she’s been taught about the fleet, their search for a new Earth, and the Defect. But the answers she seeks were never meant to be found…

Legacy Code is a suspenseful, dark post-apocalyptic read that has earned five star reviews from fans of books like Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising, and has been compared favorably to Wool, 1984, and the new Battlestar Galactica.

What first attracted me to Legacy Code was the fact that, the story takes place in space! I have read too many books set in a dystopian future and frankly, I was getting bored. Legacy Code was a breath of fresh air in the fantasy genre and I’m thankful that the author gave me a digital copy when I requested for it!

I admit I took some time before I actually got into the story but once I was in, there was no way OUT! Literally. At some point of time, I was confused as to what’s going on but when I realise it, IT WAS TOO LATE!

(For my heart! *sobs*)

I love how the author wrote the love between Era and Dritain. It’s not hot and sexy, but sweet and gentle. Era really surprised me, and I salute her for the things she is willing to do for her child when other mothers in her situation would rather choose the easy way out. Dritain Corinth is the sweetest guy I have ever read about and…and…LET ME BE A KIND SOUL AND GIVE YOU GUYS A HEADS UP.

First of all…YOU MIGHT NOT SURVIVE LEGACY CODE.

Secondly…YOU WON’T SURVIVE IT.

Third…YOU WILL SCREAM AND CRY

Finally…the only thing THAT YOU WILL DO IS TO PRAY THAT THE ENDING YOU SAW IS NOT THE ENDING.

(THOUGH IT UNFORTUNATELY IS.)

I’m not trying to scare you guys or anything but, my dear readers, that is Miss Autumn Kalquist for you.

The author’s writing is just…too beautiful. The way she weave her characters to life, it resembles too scarily close to how humans would actually be in the future. When people lose ability to think for themselves and start relying on the leaders, they would lose too many things.

The worst part is, they don’t even realise what they have lost.

Alright then, I highly suggest you guys to read Legacy Code and please, read it when you are calm and serene because after finishing the book, calm and serene will NOT appear in your dictionary anymore!

Highly recommended for readers who want to read a YA, Sci-Fi novel that will guarantee your heart to suffer from too many feels attack!

There’s a NEWER cover for Legacy Code!

legacy code

 

(Beautiful, isn’t it?!)

7 thoughts on “Review: Legacy Code by Autumn Kalquist

Leave a Reply

