Blog Tour: The Enchanted One by Lora Deeprose (Review + Snippet + Giveaway)

Enchanted One Banner

Hey fellow bookies! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Enchanted One by Lora Deeprose!

The Enchanted One coverTitle: The Enchanted One (The Ravenwood Trilogy #1)
Author: Lora Deeprose
Release date: November 15th 2014
Publisher: World Castle Publishing, LLC
Genre: Adult/Fantasy/Romance
Source: Author
Format: eARC
Pages: 286
Rating: 3½  stars 

*Thank you to the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for a honest review.

She wanted to live a normal life.

He wanted to end it.

Orphaned at birth and raised in a cloistered convent, Lizzie Chambers knows nothing of her parentage; even her name comes from the pages of a book.  When she is forced to leave the convent, she soon finds out life is nothing like her cherished Austen novels. Trapped in an unhappy marriage and questioning her own sanity, her only solace is her beloved flower shop, Enchanted Garden.

When her husband is killed and her store burns down, both under suspicious circumstances, Lizzie finds herself fleeing a demon she has no clue how to stop or even why it has targeted her in the first place.

But Gideon York knows. As a member of the Order of the Triple Goddess he is charged with protecting Lizzie and others like her from the dark forces seeking to destroy these rare and powerful women.

When their growing attraction tempts Gideon to break his sacred vow and Lizzie’s own powers threaten her new found family in the Order, she can no longer deny her destiny.  To protect the people she loves, Lizzie must find the courage to face the demon alone and risk the ultimate sacrifice . . .  her life.

Purchase links: Amazon | Smashwords

Review

When I first read The Enchanted One, I was slightly confused by what I was reading. It was a novel with adult characters, yet the story flows like a Young Adult novel. Nevertheless, this novel has quite a beautiful story! Things starts to clear up soon when Lizzie’s husband was killed and she get thrust into the whole elemental-magic life.

I felt a little negative towards Lizzie at first. She feels as if she is the one responsible for her husband’s death, which I strongly think she’s not. She’s too pessimistic. I wanted to shake her out of her stupor.

Though I grew fonder of her as the story progresses. Lizzie is a person who dares to do what she wants, taking things into her own hands and not backing down, even if she’s faced with danger.

Then came Gideon York. I admit that the reason why I continued reading the novel was because of him. I was literally waiting for the guy to show up. The thing about Gideon, is that he’s different from most men out there. You know, those bad boys that many loves. He’s different and truthfully, I like it.

No wait, I LOVE IT!

Gideon is like a breath of fresh air for me. I love how Gideon interacts with Lizzie, and nope, the age difference did not freak me out. I just wish there was more of their interaction in the book.

I have TWO ISSUES with men. Firstly, those who beat up their wives is just inhumane and disgusting. Second, those men that leeches onto their wives and refused to work. I won’t even lie about how happy I felt when the author decides to kill off that pathetic excuse of a human being known as Lizzie’s husband!

Well I thought I hated Lizzie’s husband but guess what, another person tops the list! That person is Penelope, Lizzie’s mother-in-law. I swear, that woman is an asshole. It’s no wonder the son that she gave birth to is an asshole. Like mother, like son.

The pace of the book was a little slow and some of the times, I found it hard to continue but I promise this, it gets better and better! What I found a little weird is that the characters are adults, but the flow of the book is like one in the Young Adult genre.

Though, I’m definitely glad this is a trilogy because frankly, I NEED THE SECOND BOOK!

ANSWERS, I NEED ANSWERS!

Recommended for all readers to read The Enchanted One for a new take in the world of magic and elementals!

Snippet

Slowly, she became aware of another much stronger sensation, a magnetic pull coming from some far off point in the fathomless sky. It resonated like a beacon, triggering in her a longing tinged with sorrow, a deep and frantic need to follow this pulse like a heartbeat calling her home.

Something wasn’t right. She felt it in her bones and the way the small hairs on the back of her neck stood up.

Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway to win ecopies of The Enchanted One by Lora Deeprose!

About the author:

Loralee Deeprose“As a small child I dreamed of growing up to be a chestnut mare. I was terribly disappointed when I found out people couldn’t magically transform into animals but I got over it by immersing myself in the world of fairy tales and thus began my lifelong passion for reading and make-believe.”

Lora was born in the small town of Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta; the middle child of five girls.  In 2006, she and her eldest sister moved to a hobby farm in the remote Kootenay area of British Columbia and for five years had several country adventures which included raising chickens and goats, encounters with wildlife and wrangling the neighbour’s horses. Currently she lives in BC’s Fraser Valley in a household of women spanning two generations of family with a collection of cats and a teacup Chihuahua affectionately known as Mexican Kitty.

Find her on: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

The Enchanted One Blog Tour Schedule: https://www.facebook.com/events/301332973410705/

Thank you to LovingtheBook LaunchParty for organising this blog tour!

Leave a Reply

