Review: Becoming His Master by M.Q. Barber

Becoming His MasterTitle: Becoming His Master (Neighbourly Affection #4)
Author: M.Q. Barber
Release date: March 17th 2015
Publisher: Kensington Books
Genre: Adult/Contemporary m/m Romance
Source: Netgalley
Format: eARC
Pages: 192
Rating: 3 stars

*Thank you to Kensington Books for providing me with an eARC via Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.

From rescue to romance…

Teach a wounded submissive the value of his service. The task ought to be an easy one for an experienced dominant like Henry Webb. 

But novice Jay Kress challenges his teacher like no other. Still bearing the bruises of an encounter outside the bounds of safe consensual play, Jay is desperate to submit to the man who saved him—and shamed by his desires.

Henry recognizes the dangers of a relationship built on hero worship. He’ll teach Jay how to stay safe, that’s all. He won’t take advantage of the younger man’s trust. He won’t share his fantasies about his dark-haired, athletic student. He’ll never claim this submissive for his own… 

I have never read any books with m/m romance so naturally, I’m curious! Becoming His Master isn’t that bad of a read but the story wise, I think it just doesn’t suit me or to my liking.

Due to mixing with the wrong dominants/dommes, Jay doesn’t know the exact rules. He only has one thing in his mind, to please his master/mistress and in the process, he became hurt. Not just physically, but mentally, it has taken a toll.

Henry tries to teach him the rules but the hurt from his previous experience proves to be a problem. Jay has the mindset of…a sex slave, not a submissive, as if he’s being abused.

One thing I really love about the book is the patience of Henry. Never in my life have I ever read any novels of a Dominant being so gentle and patient with a Submissive! I really love this relationship between Henry and Jay!

Now onto the reason why I say the book isn’t to my liking. It’s just so…slow. I understand what the author is trying to portray that Henry is helping Jay to heal and because of how broken Jay is, much time and patience is needed.

The story was too slow for me and I guess you can say I prefer a little more…ACTION!

Though this is only me and my opinion! Those who wants to read more about the gentle interaction between a Dominant and Submissive can try this book!

 

 

Leave a Reply

