Review: Two Truths and a Lie by Ashley Stoyanoff

Two Truths and a Lie CoverTitle: Two Truths and a Lie (PRG Investigations #1)
Author: Ashley Stoyanoff
Release date: February 28th 2015
Publisher: Ashley Stoyanoff Books
Genre: New Adult Romance
Source: Author
Format: eARC
Pages: 207
Rating: 4 stars

*Thank you to the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for a honest review.

One year ago, I became a missing person. I left everything behind—family, friends, school. It seemed like a good idea at the time. My only option, really, until I realized running from a police officer isn’t as easy as I thought it would be.

It’s been exactly three-hundred and sixty-five days since I left home, but I’m finally ready to take the step I should have taken a year ago. I’m done hiding. I’m done running. I’m going to take my life back.

It was supposed to be easy. A meeting with Jason Pierce, a private investigator, was set up for me. All I had to do was go to him, let him do his thing, and then I could go home, or so I thought.

That is, until I met Jason and things got … complicated.

Hopeful. Beautiful. Interesting.

These are the three words that I would use, to describe Two Truths and a Lie.

Elena is a victim, from the way she acts and talks, scared, timid at any sounds or unfamiliar surroundings. Yet, she finally took a stand to stop running. Throughout the story, I was hopeful that Elena would grow stronger…and she did!

Beautiful. Everything was beautiful in the story. From the time Elena decides to stop running, the first time she felt safe, and the first time she had hope, everything was just too beautiful!

I must say, Elena Reed and Jason Pierce are such interesting characters! I like how Jason always calls Elena ‘darlin’, and how Elena would always blush in response to that! They are so cute!

The thing about Two Truths and a Lie is that, not only Elena and Jason are pretty well-developed characters, but so are the other characters! Peck for one, is an obsessed sociopath where only Elena sees the real him. I almost feel pity for how desperate he is to get Elena.

(Almost. That all changed when he did something that pissed me off!)

Other characters includes Jason’s team and his parents. Jason’s team made me laugh so much! I couldn’t even stop reading this book partly because of them!

Jason’s parents were quite the mystery. At first, I don’t really understand how his mom could feel this way towards his dad after everything his dad did. When I was done reading, perhaps I could understand slightly, but I’m still feeling…confused? Weird?

Anyway, this is a must read for you romance readers out there! Recommended for readers who would love to see how a woman break free of her past and grows stronger, with the help of unexpected love!

 

 

Leave a Reply

