Review: My Salvation by Michelle Dare

My Salvation CoverTitle: My Salvation (Salvation #1)
Author: Michelle Dare
Release Date: October 19th 2014
Publisher: Self-Published
Genre: Adult/Contemporary Romance/Suspense
Source: Author
Format: eARC
Pages: 228
Rating: 3½ stars

Caliana Crawford is smart, sexy and unemployed. After quitting her mediocre job, she finds herself in need of a break. She goes to the one place that holds her most precious memories, her cabin by the lake. Life hasn’t always been easy for Cali. She lost someone close to her, was betrayed by her lover, and now she only wants to escape reality. What she doesn’t plan on is her sexy neighbor, who has an agenda of his own.

Owen Matthews goes through the motions every day, but knows his life is missing one essential part – Cali. He has never forgotten about the summers he spent by the lake with the gorgeous brunette. When he sees she is back to stay, Owen knows he can’t let her slip through his fingers again. Others think he has it all with owning a multimillion dollar company, but what they don’t know is that he would give it all up to have her in his arms and his bed.

The road to happiness isn’t always easy. His brother returns to his life and brings with him an old flame who threatens to rip Cali and Owen apart. Will they find their salvation with one another or let the events of their past influence their future?

My Salvation is truly a wonderful novel with the sweetest romance blossoming between two childhood friends!

Everything was going so fast and truth be told, the synopsis gave away the first half of the novel. It was still an enjoyable read! Perhaps, it’s because I have a thing for romance novels with two childhood sweethearts finding their way back to each other after all those years!

I was so intrigued with their romance that I practically devour the first half of the novel within minutes! Yes, it’s that amazing!

Perhaps the pace was going way too fast for the first half of the novel and it seems that the second half was going a little slow. Of course, you will get to see more of Cali and Owen spending more time together and being one of those really deep-in-love-with-each-other kind of couple!

I have mixed feelings in general, with both the characters and the plot. I do love them, but there are certain parts where I felt as if it was too…rush or forceful?

I mean I do love happily ever afters! It’s just that…how is one able to be besties with other women who may have been in the same bed as your beloved?

Well, that’s weird for me. Plus, everyone loving each other?
I guess the novel isn’t my kind of read but perhaps for other readers, you might like it!

My Salvation is recommended for readers who would like a contemporary romance novel filled with a little suspense!

*Thank you to the author for giving me an eARC in exchange for a honest review.

Leave a Reply

