Review: Jane Unwrapped by Leah and Kate Rooper

Jane UnwrappedTitle: Jane Unwrapped
Author: Leah and Kate Rooper
Release Date: October 12th 2015
Publisher: Entangled Publishing LLC
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy Romance/Mythology
Source: Netgalley
Format: eARC
Pages: 214
Rating: 4½ stars

Some tombs should never be opened…

Fluorine uranium carbon potassium. Jane’s experiment really went wrong this time. After a fatal accident, teen scientist Jane becomes the first modern-day…mummy. Waking up in the Egyptian underworld without a heart certainly isn’t the best—especially when it means Anubis, god of embalming, has to devour her soul. Yuck. But when Jane meets the drop-dead gorgeous god, suddenly she’s thinking this might not be the worst thing to happen. And then she is pushed to do the impossible—just time-travel and kill King Tut. Well, every experiment has variables which can end in disaster… Jane just wishes she could decide whether she wants to strangle Anubis or kiss him.

Jane Unwrapped is an extremely unique fantasy novel! There have been so many books with Greek mythology, and I’ve read quite a few of them, but reading a romance story with the Egyptian mythology is definitely a first for me!

One thing about Jane Unwrapped, is that I find myself hating, loving, and shipping the characters in the story simultaneously! One moment I am rooting for Jane and Anubis, or Jane and King Tut, the other moment I’m wondering why Anubis or King Tut did what they did.

It’s all so mysterious! Once you start Jane Unwrapped, the only thing you want to do is to continue turning the next page, no matter how many times you tell yourself, “I will stop at this chapter”!

One of the most wonderful (and painful) part of the story, is that its plot will leave you guessing for more! Literally. I had to guess whether Anubis and Tut have feelings for Jane… Okay wait, let me rephrase that. Both of them do feel something for Jane, but whether or not that feeling is mutually pleasant…or UNPLEASANT, that is something for the readers to find out!

What I love about Jane Unwrapped…is that it leaves me guessing at every page I read! This is truly an exciting novel to read and I find it hard to believe that this is the authors’ debut novel! I am definitely looking forward to more novels from Leah and Kate Rooper!

Highly recommended for those who would love a mythology fantasy story!

*Thank you to Entangled Publishing LLC for providing me with an eARC via Netgalley in exchange for a honest review.

 

Amazon

Leave a Reply

