Review: Adjournment by Emersyn Vallis

Adjournment CoverTitle: Adjournment (Fate #1)
Author: Emersyn Vallis
Release Date: June 30th 2014
Publisher: Self-Published
Genre: New Adult/Contemporary Romance
Source: Author
Format: eARC
Pages: 369
Rating: 3 stars

When I chose to leave home I knew what I was giving up. I knew I was walking away from life as I knew it and the plans that we had made.

We…us…him and I…

It’s funny to think of him in a different light…or life.

That’s what it feels like, a lifetime ago.

But I’m a different person now. I have rules and goals. And if it wasn’t for my parents’ vow renewal I would have successfully evaded him for the rest of my life. This is not by choice, I can tell you that.

I just need to focus and remember the key to this weekend is avoidance…and alcohol. But if anyone can pull that off it’s me, Sidney Chandler, queen of avoiding anything that will make me feel.

It’s just one weekend, right?

One very long weekend with my family…friends…my sisters and me…together, and our nemeses, the McAllister triplets.

What could possibly go wrong?

Everything.

They say you never forget your first love, now just imagine how hard it is to forget your only.

This is going to suck. 

Adjournment is one of the most confusing, yet interesting story I have ever read.

When I first started reading, I have no idea where the story was actually going. I thought it might be some sort of dark romance or something that left the main protagonist scarred.

That, was my main motivation to finish this novel.

I had to find out what happened to Sidney Chandler. Something had made her become a person who has to control her surroundings, or else she will have some sort of anxiety.

The thing is, even when I got till the end, almost nothing was revealed and I was still confused as ever.

The story is from the first person point-of-view, but I do not think that’s the reason why I had a hard time reading. It’s the story, and the excessive use of exclamation marks.

I think what the author was trying to convey, was that Sidney used to be an impulsive person and that changed 10 years ago. Perhaps, more emotions can be used to describe the change she feels, instead of trying to beat around the bush and baiting the readers to continue reading.

As for Simon and the rest of the people surrounding Sidney, all I can say is I don’t particularly feel connected to anyone. Perhaps, the only other people I am able to feel a slight liking towards to, is the Chandler sisters.

Perhaps, this style of writing is not for me. I do think that the story has potential, but with this sort of writing, I’m not sure if I would continue reading the series, despite my urgent need to actually know what in the world is going on.

I do recommend giving Adjournment a go, because I do like the story. Also, Adjournment is quite different as compared to the usual novels.

The thing about Adjournment, is that despite its style of writing, the story and the characters does have a way of making a reader hooked onto it until the reader finishes it!

*Thank you to the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for a honest review.

 

Amazon

Leave a Reply

