Review: Bella Vol. 1 by Kimberly Blalock

Bella UPDATED CoverTitle: Bella Vol. 1 (Sagatori Family Saga #1)
Author: Kimberly Blalock
Release Date: November 2015
Publisher: Self-Published
Genre: Adult/Contemporary/Mafia Romance
Source: Author
Format: eARC
Pages: 120
Rating: 5 stars

My name is Isabella Sagatori. To my father I’m a princess, to others I’m an opportunity. They call me the mafia princess.

My life had been beautiful, I’d never wanted for anything. I took each day as it came and embraced it with Insight, laughter, and love. I chose not to live in the dark shadows, until now.

Skip ahead and here I am running for my life, for my father’s life, and for my freedom. Darkness lingered and my father offered my hand to the boss of the Chicago outfit to ensure my protection.

Jax Moretti came into my life as a hero and then claimed me as his own. He claimed he’d only wanted to protect me, but the dark shadows that lingered in his in eyes told a different story.

Nothing that belongs to this earth is ever free. Until I met Jax Moretti I couldn’t have known how true that could be. 

I have absolutely no idea why I waited for so long to actually start reading Bella!

The Sagatori Family Saga series is set in the mafia romance genre, one of the rarest genre I have ever read, yet this mafia romance novel has one of the best story out of all my reads, and I’m really excited to say that it was beyond amazing!

According to the author, Bella is a serial series set to be release every month. As the first volume of a serial, the length of this novel is just right and not too short, considering the fact that the entire series is set to be released in parts.

Although this is only the first part, and it might seem a tad too early to say this, but I actually think I’m might already be addicted to this serial!

I have read quite a few serials before, and usually, the pages do not go over 100, which kind of feels like someone just threw a bucket of ice water over my head whenever I finish a part of the serial.

Yet for Bella, it feels just nice. The story is neither too rush nor too slow, building at a steady pace and exploring the depths of the characters, especially Isabella Sagatori’s. Something rather unique, and one that I love, was the alternating point-of-view in the story.

I love how Bella Sagatori is being portrayed. A woman born into the mafia family, loyal to only her father and refused to be do what she is being told. She takes orders from no one! Though, there is just one thing that doesn’t quite sit well with me. How could her father not trust her?!

Jax Moretti is literally the most confusing character. One minute he’s protecting her, the other it seems as though he hates her?! Of course, he does seem to have redeeming qualities sometimes, but what I want to know is, whether Jax have any feelings for her.

I know he does, but from Bella’s point-of-view, it doesn’t seem that way! Guess I’ll be starting the second volume very, very soon!

I do think Kimberly Blalock is pretty awesome! Fitting in an amazing story, the depths of the characters, with action and romance into 120 pages is definitely not easy and if the first volume already looks this promising, I can’t wait to read the rest of the volumes in this serial!

Highly recommended for all romance readers, especially those who loves mafia romance novels and fans of Kimberly’s The Angel Trilogy!

*Thank you to the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for a honest review.

 

Amazon

Leave a Reply

