Review: Pennies by Pepper Winters

Pennies CoverTitle: Pennies (Dollar #1)
Author: Pepper Winters
Release Date: July 11th 2016
Publisher: Self-Published
Genre: Adult/Dark Romance/Erotica
Source: Author
Format: eARC
Rating: 5 stars

“At 18 I had pennies, but money didn’t make me bold. At 19 I had dollars, but it didn’t dull the pain of being sold. At 20 I had hundreds, but then I met him and was found. At 21 I had thousands, but all I wanted was to be bound.”

“At 23 I had dollars, but life changed and made me rich. At 25 I had hundreds, but it wasn’t enough to stop my killing itch. At 27 I had thousands, but my reputation didn’t set me free. At 29 I had millions, but I met her and could finally see.”

Tasmin was killed on her 18th birthday. She had everything planned out. A psychology degree, a mother who pushed her to greatness, and a future anyone would die for. But then her murderer saved her life, only to sell her into a totally different existence.

Elder went from penniless to stinking rich with one twist of fate. His lifetime of crime and shadows of thievery are behind him but no matter the power he now wields, it’s not enough. He has an agenda to fulfill and he won’t stop until it’s complete.

But then they meet.

A beaten slave and a richly dressed thief. Money is what guided their separate fates. Money is what brought them together. And money is ultimately what destroys them.

She was poor.
He was rich.
Together…they were bankrupt.

This might just be the best novel Miss Pepper Winters has ever written!

Pennies has touched me in ways I have never felt from reading any dark romance novels before, and something about Tasmin and Elder Prest draws me into them so deeply, just like how I felt for Q and Tess!

Pepper Winters is an author whose novels gets better with each novel she writes!

To me, she is one of the best dark romance writer whose level of darkness (combined with unbreakably-strong female characters, and hot-alphas who exudes confidence by standing in a corner), raised the bar for many dark romance reads out there. Yet with each novel and series she writes, she breaks her own bar!

I have read almost all of the books written by this author, and I love all of them! I do have to say that my favourite is definitely the Monsters in the Dark series, but this new series might just be my favourite too!

Pennies is not the darkest novel written by our dear Queen of Darkness just yet, since it is the first in the series, but emotional and complexity of characters wise? Oh yeah, it has reached way past that stage!

Each character written by an author will always be different. Yet, in Pennies, the level of uniqueness is completely different! Tasmin and Elder Prest are two very intriguing characters, whom I would definitely want to find out more!

Did I also mentioned that the Queen of the dark romance genres, Miss Pepper Winters, is also the Queen of…no wait, make that the God! Yes, the God of Cliff-hangers?!

Seriously, every time when the story is getting really, really good, IT STOPS!

I see myself crying over the Dollar series and its cliffhangers until all the novels in the series has been released!

Highly recommended for all dark romance readers to read Pennies! Be warned! Tasmin and Elder Prest are not your typical dark romance protagonists!

*Thank you to the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for a honest review.

Leave a Reply

