Review: Enemy Mine by Megan Mitcham

22710047Title: Enemy Mine (Base Branch #1)
Author: Megan Mitcham
Release date: October 2014
Publisher: MM Publishing LLC
Genre: Adult/ Romantic Suspense/Action
Source: Author
Format: eARC
Pages: 227
Rating: 4 stars

*Thank you to the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for a honest review.

 When friends become enemies and enemies become lovers.

Born in the blood of Sierra Leone’s Civil War, enslaved, then sold to the US as an orphan, Base Branch operative, Sloan Harris is emotionally dead and driven by vengeance. With no soul to give, her body becomes the bargaining chip to infiltrate a warlord’s inner circle, the man called The Devil who killed her family and helped destroy a region.

As son of the warlord, Baine Kendrick will happily use Sloan’s body, if it expedites his father’s demise. Yet, he is wholly unprepared for the possessive and protective emotions she provokes. Maybe it’s the flashes of memory. Two forgotten children drawing in the dirt beneath the boabab tree. But he fears there is more at stake than his life.

In the Devil’s den with Baine by her side, Sloan braves certain death and discovers a spirit for living.

Once I started Enemy Mine, I was hooked on it and I had to finish it before I do anything else! At first, the synopsis and the book cover wasn’t that enticing but once I read the first few chapters, I already know I would love it!

To me, Enemy Mine feels like a combination of both Mission Impossible and Ultraviolet!

Sloan Harris is the perfect example of a soldier who lives only for revenge and nothing else. She’s practically emotionless towards many things in life or should I say, a lack of wants. I have this notion that if Sloan wasn’t driven by revenge and being a Base Branch operative, she would have wasted her life away or probably having suicidal thoughts.

I love how the author portrays Sloan’s character. Sloan believes she can pull off her mission well, which she does all the time, and even when faced with the man she recognise as the boy that made her dark childhood bearable, she’s certain she won’t hesitate.

She may seem incapable of any emotions but in the end, she’s just human and she feels for Baine.

Baine Kendrick, the first person I have ever read about in a book who hates his father so much. I’ve read plenty of books with protagonists hating their parents but the hatred is nothing compared to what Baine feels for his father.

I don’t want sound weird or anything but part of the reason why I like Baine so much is because his feelings for his father never disappears or soften. He just hates the man so much. Of course, that and his love for the one he loves most.

The way the author wrote the book is pretty cool. It’s one of those books in a third person’s point of view but it also stops at certain part, like a cliff-hanger and move onto another character’s perspective.

(This will probably explain the reason why I kept on reading until I finish it before I can do anything else! Oh, and the amount of time my heart seems to stop!)

Recommended for those who wants to have a read of heart-pumping-stopping action filled with a twist of love!  

2 thoughts on “Review: Enemy Mine by Megan Mitcham

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.